The building is of Georgian architecture and the property consists of the main house, a clock tower, a gallery and a guardhouse located at the rear.
It overlooks the Savannah and has a unique George III Coat of Arms, in Coade stone (ceramic resembling stone), designed specifically for this building.
The Clock Tower of the Main Guard was made around 1803 by Dwerrihouse and Carter of London, and bears the coat of arms which was added later in the early 1800s. It was replaced during renovations by the government and now chimes every 15 minutes..
The Main Guard was used by the British Military during the 1800s to carry out Courts Martials and was the main guard command until 1905 when the British Forces withdrew. As the central military police station, it was here that all sentries and guard houses were administered. It was also where the courts marshall were held, in addittion to dispensing judgements and punishments to those personnel brought before it. The guardhouse at the back of the building was where the prisoners were kept.
This property was privately owned during the early 1900s, but was bought over by the Barbados Government in 1979 and renovated in the year 2000.
The Gallery/Veranda and cast iron trimmings were added pre-Government when it was the Savannah Club, a controversial exclusive club.
After the government took possession of the property, it once again became known as 'The Main Guard' and is currently the home of the Garrison Committee, Barbados Legion and Barbados Poppy League.
Located in-front of the Main Guard is some of the the finest collection of 17th century English iron cannon.
When in this area CHECK OUT
Other heritage sights & sites in the Garrison Historic Area and the Changing of the Sentry (held on specific days) .
For Military Tours of Barbados' Cannon Collection and The Military Museum of the West India Regiment Click here...